BuddyPress settings access error in CBox

Probably an easy question but I’m new to Commons-in-a-Box and BuddyPress so hoping someone can point me in the right direction,…

I have a new install of Commons-in-a-Box and was able to get everything set up and working, add some users, make some groups and docs, etc., and excited to roll the site out to the wider world.

However, when I go back to the CBox dashboard in wordpress (logged in as super-admin) I get a “Sorry, you are not allowed to access this page.” error when trying to access/update BuddyPress settings. (I was initially able to access these during setup, not sure what would have changed to break this.) All of the links from the wordpress admin side seem to run into the same error. All the plugins are up to date and I’m using the default installation/configuration provided by Reclaim via Installatron.

Have searched various forums and the wider internet but not finding anything that seems to help.

Thanks for any suggestions!

Did you happen to change your WP username at any point? Seems like a silly question but the WP Multisite database stores actual usernames to determine which users have superadmin access and changing your username can get you locked out of the admin side of things.

good question. I don’t think I changed my wp username, at least not intentionally!

Just took a quick look and you may want to make sure you’re logged in as the superuser account since I see you also have additional user accounts you have created. Perhaps you created an admin account fo a particular site and that’s the one you’re logged into? The superadmin account is a 3 character username if that helps. If that doesn’t work I would say open a ticket and we can dig into your situation more because maybe I’m off base on the username thing.

OK, this is weird, I can access buddypress settings at this link:
https://[my-domain]/wp-admin/network/settings.php?page=bp-components
But not at the link from the dashboard: