Changing images on themes

Typical newbie here, focusing on how it looks rather than what’s in there. But…what’s the process of switching up the photos? I’m looking at the mountains in the Aerial template. Although I preferred the Eventually theme but kept getting this error mssg:

(XID 4nznc9) “/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/process_site_templates” reported error code “255” when it ended: Publication of site template failed: Not a SCALAR reference at /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/process_site_templates line 189.

thx :slight_smile:

Yeah the Eventually theme has a bug we’re looking into (blame @cogdog, haha). The image Aerial uses is assets/css/images/bg.jpg so you could replace that file with another of the same name. Sort of a pain with the Site Publisher stuff, it’s great for quick templates but any modifications will mean editing the code and files directly. If you find yourself wanting to make a lot of changes it’s probably a good idea to graduate to something like WordPress where you can install themes and have quite a bit more functionality over the look and feel of the site.

It’s definitely possible; in our guide for this part of the workshop under the heading “Uploading Your Own Files with the File Manager” I describe how to use the File Manager to replace an image file, but it involves inspecting the source of the original to discover the name of the file.

But the point here is not to create a lasting site with Site Publisher, it’s really for someone new to make a place holder. If you are that level of modification, you could get the HTML theme the Site Publisher uses and upload all the files here. We are really at a level of sophistication beyond what we want to be doing with people new to domains.

I’ve actually done this for a friend’s site (I replaced the mountains with vegetables)

It calls not only for using the static HTML theme, but photoshoppnig the veggies, making it background transparent…