Ontario Extend Domain Camp Week 2

It’s week 2 in Domain Camp, and this notice has just been added to the bulletin board.

This week campers will create subdomains and sites in directories, install WordPress into one or more of these, make subdomain redirects, and password protect a site

https://extend-domains.ecampusontario.ca/camp/week-2/

We have office hours this week at 4pm EST. And this forum is the best place for talking about camp.

Hi all,
So I am an extreme newbie to this website stuff. :confounded: I think I have added two sub domains but when I open the main domain page or home page, I am unable to access the sub domains. Any suggestions on how I can create a link from the home page to the sub domains?
I am sure it is something easy that I am just missing.

Thanks
Tricia

That’s really good progress for a newbie! Let’s see a link for some of the thingd you are making.

You are not missing anything.

So here is the thing, all of the subdomains, sites you create are completely independent of each other. The simple landing page you installed do not provide the functionality to link to your other sites without doing some manual HTML editing. Or depending which landing page you used, you might be able to put in the addresses for a subdomain in place of where the template provides links to social media.

The first landing page you created is really just a placeholder, it is not very useful. In this week’s activity, we show you how to put more versatile landing pages in that will make it easier to connect to your other sites.

Good morning cogdog,
I was just looking at week 3. For some reason I am not able to log in as admin? I cant find the black bar that indicated I should see.
I keep getting lost on where to go for control panel, admin, sub domains etc. Any suggestions on how to keep it straight would be much appreciated. :grin: