Installing Adapt Authoring Tool

Going to write out as much as I can in case others run into this problem too.

I’ve been following along the Adapt Authoring Tool guide Installing the Authoring Tool · adaptlearning/adapt_authoring Wiki · GitHub and get to step four before I run into any trouble. I started with Node.js v 10.21.1 LTS (it seems it’s not compatible with newer than v 10.x). I selected MongoDB 4.0.9 (Adapt is compatible with up to v 4.x). I verified that git and grunt were running on my cloudlet as well using the --version command.

In step three the guide says to make sure that MongoDB is running. When I log into MongoDB as an administrator I can see the uptime keeps going up which implied to me that it was running. However when I try step four node install (also tried sudo node install) it takes you through a series of prompts and then times out:

Now we need to configure the master tenant.
Tip: just press ENTER to accept the default value in brackets.

error [03 Jul 20 15:16:57 +00:00] Server selection timed out after 30000 ms
error [03 Jul 20 15:16:57 +00:00] failed to set app.db

I checked out the Adapt forum, and that error seems to stem from MongoDB not being active. So I logged into the command line for MongoDB following their documentation to check the status of and I get:
mongod.service - SYSV: Mongo is a scalable, document-oriented database.
Loaded: loaded (/etc/rc.d/init.d/mongod; bad; vendor preset: disabled)
Active: inactive (dead)
Docs: man:systemd-sysv-generator(8)

I assume that “Active: inactive (dead)” means MongoDB is not running. Following the MongoDB docs, I tried the command sudo systemctl start mongod and get:
We trust you have received the usual lecture from the local System
Administrator. It usually boils down to these three things:

#1) Respect the privacy of others.
#2) Think before you type.
#3) With great power comes great responsibility.

[sudo] password for mongod: