Introductions - Say Hi!

Who are you? What are you working on? What kind of things are you interested in exploring as part of the Reclaim Cloud beta? Give a shout in this thread and get to know others who will be kicking the tires over the next 2 months.

1 Like

Hi, I’m Jim Groom and I am interested in not only moving some existing WordPress sites I run into performant Clusters on the Reclaim Cloud, but also interested in exploring what’s possible with getting Docker containers up and running easily. I’ll be trying to document as much as I can along the way, and as always appreciate any and all feedback you can provide!

1 Like

Hi, I’m Tim Clarke and I am an instructional designer at Muhlenberg College in Allentown, PA. I am the friendly DoOO tub-thumper here and I’m really excited about this beta.

I’ve held a far off dream of easily deployable tools and platforms for higher education that’s never quite been realized (except for web hosting). I’ve wandered through Linode’s stack scripts and swum through Digital Ocean droplets. I’ve read Docker documentation until my eyes crossed, and I feel we’re so close. It’s right there. And maybe for some large or lucky institutions it may have already arrived. But smaller schools and staffs, and those whose CIOs have a very conventional view of administrative IT, are likely still dreaming with me.

I’m hopeful for faculty course-based requests AND student independent research. Fairy standard install/configuration of software that can support the projects that are currently just out of reach, and a little too substantial for DoOO. Things like geoservers & web mapping, text analysis, web crawling/scraping, citizen science, data visualization and RStudio Server, etc.

I’m also super interested in the possibility of self-platforming across my whole institution. Specifically stuff like OpenETC has looked at: A GSuite alternative like Sandstorm, a Slack alternative, and other collaborative workspaces we could host like Etherpad.