MYSQL htaccess file

Hi, all.

I’m relatively new to c-panel and its features but am fairly familiar with html coding and web stuff.

What I would like to do is to create a registration page in php and pull these values into an htaccess file so that users can view a specific directory on my site. My questions are:

1. The directory is already protected through c-panel and so the htaccess file already exists. Can I just append the mysql calls to the file, or do I have to choose one or the other method for protecting the directory?
  2. If the passwords are encrypted in the db, how do I tell the htaccess file to unencrypt, and where do I put the key?
  3. is this the best practice for restricting access to a directory? I’d rather do this than add php code to every page in the directory!

Thanks for any advice!

Hey Andrew,

cPanel’s directory protection utilizes .htaccess alongside an Apache directory privacy method called htpasswd. Here’s a guide I found that should give you a head start on how you would generate the encrypted password using PHP Complete Beginner’s Guide to .htaccess Files - hostingcanada.org and then you’d use standard PHP calls to append the information to the htpasswd file. You’ll notice that the .htaccess file references the location of the passwd file and it’s that passwd file that stores the usernames and encrypted password (Apache does all the decrypting itself). Notably you can’t write any code within .htaccess as it’s not a script file that can be executed so I think you’ll need to have your PHP code be a part of the registration page code and just write the necessary user/pass information to the appropriate files. Let me know if that helps!